NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision finalists announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

October 19, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on either the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website or the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through December 5. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I FBS head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2011 football bowl season.

Football 2011 Finalists

Name Position School
Emmanuel Acho Linebacker Texas
Jake Bequette Defensive End Arkansas
Drew Butler Punter Georgia
Kirk Cousins Quarterback Michigan State
Austin Davis Quarterback Southern Mississippi
John Dowd Offensive Guard Navy
Chase Minnifield Cornerback Virginia
Dan Persa Quarterback Northwestern
Nate Potter Offensive Tackle Boise State
Dawson Zimmerman Punter Clemson