NCAA men’s and women’s basketball candidates announced for 2011-12 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

November 04, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2011-12 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011-12 candidate class includes three men’s players who were members of last year’s CoSIDA Academic All-American team, one Associated Press All-American and seven players who are on teams ranked in the Associated Press preseason top 25 poll.

The women’s candidate class includes one CoSIDA Academic All-American, two Associated Press All-Americans and 12 players whose teams are ranked in the Associated Press preseason top 25.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men’s Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2012 NCAA Men’s Final Four®, which will be held March 31 and April 2 in New Orleans. The women’s award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four®, which will be held April 1 and 3 in Denver.

The 60 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in both men’s and women’s basketball midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I men’s and women’s coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

Men’s Basketball 2011-12 Candidates

Name Position School
Tim Abromaitis Forward Notre Dame
William Buford Guard Ohio State
Kyle Bullinger Forward Weber State
Scott Christopherson Guard Iowa State
Darnell Gant Forward Washington
Ashton Gibbs Guard Pittsburgh
Drew Gordon Forward New Mexico
Malcolm Grant Guard Miami
Draymond Green Forward Michigan State
Justin Greene Forward Kent State
Reggie Hamilton Guard Oakland
Mick Hedgepeth Forward Belmont
Robbie Hummel Forward Purdue
Bernard James Forward Florida State
Orlando Johnson Guard UC Santa Barbara
Kevin Jones Forward West Virginia
Jarrod Jones Forward Ball State
Quinn McDowell Forward William and Mary
Darius Miller Guard Kentucky
Ronald Nored Guard Butler
Zack Novak Guard/Forward Michigan
Zack Rosen Guard Pennsylvania
Jesse Sanders Guard Liberty
Tanner Smith Guard Clemson
Jordan Taylor Guard Wisconsin
Erving Walker Guard Florida
Demetrius Ward Guard Western Michigan
Kyle Weems Forward Missouri State
Chris Wroblewski Guard Cornell
Tyler Zeller Forward North Carolina

Women’s Basketball 2011-12 Candidates

Name Position School
LaSondra Barrett Forward LSU
Denise Beliveau Forward New Hampshire
Brogan Berry Guard Harvard
Cierra Bravard Forward Florida State
Kaitlyn Burke Guard Nebraska
Brittany Carter Guard Memphis
Jalana Childs Forward Kansas State
Lauren Edwards Guard Princeton
Adaora Elonu Forward Texas A&M
Briana Gilbreath Guard USC
Keisha Hampton Forward DePaul
Jericka Jenkins Guard Hampton
Amanda Johnson Forward Oregon
Glory Johnson Forward Tennessee
Shenise Johnson Guard Miami (Florida)
Emilie Johnson Guard UC Santa Barbara
Michelle Kurowski Guard UMBC
Kristen McCarthy Guard Temple
Natalie Novosel Guard Notre Dame
Nnemkadi Ogwumike Forward Stanford
Chelsea Pickering Guard Idaho State
Abby Plucker Forward North Dakota State
Justine Raterman Forward Dayton
Brittany Rayburn Guard Purdue
Monique Reid Forward Louisville
Ericka Russell Guard Alabama
Naama Shafir Guard Toledo
Da’Shena Stevens Forward St. John's
Whiquitta Tobar Guard Alabama A&M
Corielle Yarde Guard Marist