Volleyball candidates announced for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award

August 28, 2013


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 10 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher and 19 are American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Americans.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

Volleyball 2013 Candidates

Name Position School
Taylor Akana Outside Hitter Siena
Lindsey Butterfield Left Side Bowling Green
Megan Campbell Middle Blocker Dayton
Jennifer Cross Middle Blocker Michigan
Megan Devine Outside Hitter East Tennessee State
Caitlin Dotson Setter Lipscomb
Chelsey Feekin Setter Wichita State
Jessi Greenberg Defensive Specialist Kentucky
Natalie Hagglund Libero USC
Kristen Hahn Defensive Specialist/Libero Iowa State
Emily Hartong Outside Hitter Hawaii
Xitlali Herrera Middle Blocker UTEP
Stephanie Holthus Outside Hitter Northwestern
Caroline Jarmoc Middle Blocker Kansas
Elizabeth Koberstein Setter Marquette
Chloe Mann Middle Blocker Florida
Ali McCurdy Defensive Specialist/Libero Duke
Sallie McLaurin Middle Blocker Oklahoma
Ashley Neff Middle Blocker Florida State
Lena Oliver Libero Western Michigan
Lauren Plum Setter Oregon
Ashley Potts Defensive Specialist/Libero Western Kentucky
Kelly Reeves Outside Hitter UCLA
Garyn Schlatter Setter Portland State
Ariel Scott Right Side Penn State
Dani Shepherd Libero Pennsylvania
Bailey Webster Outside Hitter Texas
Lauren Wicinski Outside Hitter Michigan State
Ashley Wittman Outside Hitter Minnesota
Carly Wopat Middle Blocker Stanford