Volleyball Finalists Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

October 25, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 24, 2019) – Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as finalists today for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. And for the first time in award history, three student-athletes from the same team (Stanford) have earned a spot in the final 10. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 2. Fan votes will then be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #

Volleyball 2019 Finalists

Name Position School
Allie Barber Outside Hitter Marquette University
Leah Edmond Outside Hitter Kentucky
Ann Ernst Outside Hitter Loyola University Maryland
Yumi Garcia Libero Charlotte
Jenna Gray Setter Stanford University
Morgan Hentz Libero Stanford University
Mary Lake Libero Brigham Young University
Kathryn Plummer Outside Hitter Stanford University
Shelly Stafford Middle Blocker Baylor
Micaya White Outside Hitter University of Texas