Finalists announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in men’s lacrosse

March 28, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in men’s lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 20 candidates announced in February. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website or on the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through May 10. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the winner May 28 at the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse semifinals in Baltimore.

Lacrosse 2011 Finalists

Name Position School
Stefan Bauer Attack Lafayette College
Grant Catalino Attack Maryland
Kevin Crowley Midfield Stony Brook University
Johnathan Falcone Goalkeeper Yale University
Ryan Flanagan Defense University of North Carolina
John Galloway Goalkeeper Syracuse University
Anthony Iannello Midfield Bryant University
Brian Karalunas Long-stick Midfield Villanova University
Tom Montelli Long-stick Midfield Duke University
Jonathan Stumpf Midfield Lehigh University