Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Names 2009-10 Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates

November 04, 2009

Download in PDF format

(Overland Park, KS) – Sixty NCAA men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were tabbed as candidates today for the 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

This year’s candidate class includes 25 players on the preseason watch lists for the men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Award, eight men’s players who are candidates for the AT&T Naismith Trophy, 11 women’s players who are preseason favorites for the State Farm Wade Trophy and three men’s and women’s players who finished their junior seasons as all-Americans. There are four players recognized last year as ESPN The Magazine Academic All-Americans. Eleven men’s players are from teams ranked in the preseason top 25 poll; while 11 women represent teams ranked in the top 25 women’s preseason poll. Of the 60 candidates, 13 have cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or higher and three have maintained perfect 4.0 GPAs during their collegiate academic careers.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner for men’s basketball at the 2010 NCAA Men’s Final Four® in Indianapolis in April and for women’s basketball at the 2010 NCAA Women’s Final Four® in San Antonio in April.

The two lists of 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists each midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition. 

“Lowe’s is proud to be associated with the nominees for the Senior CLASS Award™ in men’s and women’s basketball,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “Each of the student-athletes has shown tremendous commitment to their studies during their college careers. They have also demonstrated great character and a passion for community service.”

This marks the ninth year for the basketball division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Previous winners of the men’s basketball award include Juan Dixon of Maryland (2002), David West of Xavier (2003), Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph’s (2004), Wayne Simien of Kansas (2005), J.J. Redick of Duke (2006), Alando Tucker of Wisconsin (2007), Shan Foster of Vanderbilt (2008) and Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina (2009). Past recipients of the women’s award include Sue Bird of Connecticut (2002), LaToya Thomas of Mississippi State (2003), Alana Beard of Duke (2004), Kendra Wecker of Kansas State (2005), Seimone Augustus of LSU (2006), Alison Bales of Duke (2007), Candice Wiggins of Stanford (2008) and Courtney Paris of Oklahoma (2009).

Men’s Basketball 2009-10 Candidates

Name Position School
Matt Bouldin Guard Gonzaga University
Da'Sean Butler Forward West Virginia University
Devan Downey Guard University of South Carolina
Dodie Dunson Guard Bradley University
Jason Duty Guard Duquesne University
Patrick Foley Guard Columbia University
Marcus Ginyard Guard University of North Carolina
Marquis Hall Guard Lehigh University
Luke Harangody Forward University of Notre Dame
Damion James Forward University of Texas
Adam Koch Forward University of Northern Iowa
David Kool Guard Western Michigan University
Chris Kramer Guard Purdue University
Roman Martinez Forward University of New Mexico
Michael McConathy Guard Northwestern State University
Yves Mekongo Forward La Salle University
Raymar Morgan Forward Michigan State University
Matthew Mullery Forward Brown University
Hamady Ndiaye Center Rutgers University
Dexter Pittman Center University of Texas
Jared Quayle Guard Utah State University
Jerome Randle Guard University of California
Scottie Reynolds Guard Villanova University
Nate Rohnert Guard/Forward University of Denver
Jon Scheyer Guard Duke University
DeShawn Sims Forward University of Michigan
J.T. Tiller Guard University of Missouri
Ben Uzoh Guard University of Tulsa
Josh Young Guard Drake University

Women’s Basketball 2009-10 Candidates

Name Position School
Jayne Appel Center Stanford University
Miranda Ayim Forward/Center Pepperdine University
Amy Beggin Guard University of New Mexico
Joy Cheek Forward/Guard Duke University
Alysha Clark Forward Middle Tennessee State
Allyssa DeHaan Center Michigan State University
Claire Faucher Guard Portland State University
Kristen Feemster Forward Western Carolina University
Jordan Franey Guard/Forward University of California, Santa Barbara
Tyra Grant Guard Penn State University
Alexis Gray-Lawson Guard University of California
Kelsey Griffin Forward University of Nebraska
Lisa Helmers Guard Loyola Marymount University
Allison Hightower Guard Louisiana State University
Ashley Houts Guard University of Georgia
May Kotsopoulos Guard University of Vermont
Maggie Krick Guard Illinois State University
Kelsey Luna Guard Indiana State University
Joy McCorvey Forward St. John's University
Danielle McCray Guard/Forward University of Kansas
Jessica Mooney Guard Vanderbilt University
Jené Morris Guard San Diego State University
Deirdre Naughton Guard DePaul University
Lauren Sims Guard Long Beach State University
Jenna Smith Center University of Illinois
Ashley Sweat Forward Kansas State University
Bianca Thomas Guard University of Mississippi
Amanda Thompson Forward University of Oklahoma
Jenny Van Kirk Forward Bradley University
Monica Wright Guard University of Virginia