Men’s ice hockey finalists announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

February 19, 2014


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Ten NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced in November. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through March 31. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.

Hockey 2013-14 Finalists

Name Position School
Sam Brittain Goaltender Denver
Greg Carey Wing St. Lawrence
Scott Czarnowczan Defenseman Ferris State
Kyle Gibbons Forward Canisius
Brock Higgs Forward Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Cole Ikkala Forward Union (N.Y.)
Andy Iles Goaltender Cornell
Dennis Robertson Defense Brown
Ryan Walters Left wing Nebraska Omaha
Matt Zarbo Forward Clarkson