Volleyball Candidates Announced for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award

October 03, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 3, 2017) – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 13 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher and 18 have received academic all-conference honors. Seventeen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and 13 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #


Volleyball 2017 Candidates

Name Position School
Rhamat Alhassan Middle Blocker Florida
Haley Barnes Outside Hitter High Point
Kelsey Bittinger Outside Hitter Kent State
Julia Brown Outside Hitter NC State
Alyssa Cavanaugh Outside Hitter Western Kentucky
Alexis Conaway Middle Blocker Iowa State
Sammy Condon Middle Hitter Oakland
Melanie Crow Outside Hitter Missouri
Lydia Dimke Setter Creighton
Ashley Dusek Libero Kentucky
Emily Hiebert Setter Wichita State
Kelly Hunter Setter Nebraska
Brittany Jessen Setter South Dakota
Lily Johnson Outside Hitter Missouri State
Crissy Jones Outside Hitter Washington
Jaelyn Keene Middle Blocker Illinois State
Sydney LeMay Middle Blocker Western Michigan
Simone Lee Outside Hitter Penn State
Abbie Lehman Middle Blocker Wichita State
Jessica Lucas Setter Western Kentucky
Merete Lutz Opposite Stanford
Mary-Kate Marshall Outside Hitter Oregon State
Ebony Nwanebu Outside Hitter Texas
Maddie Palmer Outside Hitter Radford
Kelsie Payne Right Side Hitter Kansas
Courtney Schwan Outside Hitter Washington
Katie Staiger Outside Hitter Baylor
Megan Theiller Outside Hitter Fairfield
Kori Waelbroeck Right Side IUPUI
Haleigh Washington Middle Blocker Penn State