Baseball finalists announced for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award

April 27, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 26, 2017) – Ten NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the diamond were selected as finalists today for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate baseball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced in March. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through June 7. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. This year’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 College World Series® in June. For more information on all of the finalists, visit

Baseball 2017 Finalists

Name Position School
Tyler Buffett Pitcher Oklahoma State
Adrian Chinnery Catcher Navy
Jackson Cramer First Base West Virginia University
Anthony Critelli First Base/Infielder Holy Cross
Todd Czinege Second Base/Shortstop Villanova
Pat Krall Pitcher Clemson
Evan Kruczynski Pitcher East Carolina University
Hunter Schryver Pitcher Villanova
Brett Smith Outfielder Bucknell
Caleb Stayton Catcher / First Base Ball State University