Candidates announced for inaugural 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for volleyball

August 26, 2010


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the first-ever Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.?

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2010 candidate class includes eight American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Americans from last season. Twenty of the 30 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Two of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2009 Academic All-Americans, and 12 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA’s preseason top 25 poll. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

“We are excited to add women’s volleyball to the award program and are encouraged by the strong group of women who make up our first class of candidates,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “These student-athletes are outstanding leaders and have contributed many hours to make their universities and communities better places.”?

Volleyball 2010 Candidates

Name Position School
Sydney Anderson Setter University of Nebraska
Jennifer Berwanger Outside Hitter Southern Illinois University
Ellie Blankenship Libero University of Northern Iowa
Nina Camaioni Outside Hitter Loyola University (Maryland)
Laura DeBruler Outside Hitter University of Illinois
Allyson Doyle Outside Hitter Western Michigan University
Francie Ekwerekwu Middle Blocker University of Oklahoma
Nikki Fowler Outside Hitter/Right Side University of Tennessee
Lauren Gibbemeyer Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Amanda Graham Middle Blocker Robert Morris University
Jenna Hagglund Setter University of Washington
Christy Hudson Right Side/Middle Blocker TCU
JennaRae Jester Middle Blocker University of Wyoming
Alex Kelly Middle Blocker Lipscomb University
Chelsy Kimes Outside Hitter Coastal Carolina University
Alix Klineman Outside Hitter Stanford University
Lauren Krupsky Outside Hitter Central Michigan University
Tracey Lam Libero Rice University
Carli Lloyd Setter University of California, Berkeley
Jamie Mellies Setter Seattle University
Jade Michaelsen Setter University of New Mexico
Sabel Moffett Middle Blocker Northwestern University
Stephanie Niemer Outside Hitter University of Cincinnati
Becky Novacek Middle Blocker University of Dayton
Lauren Rapp Right Side Hitter/Middle Blocker University of Kentucky
Chloe Smith Right Side Hitter University of Central Arkansas
Mary Ashley Tippins Setter Georgia Tech
Dana Vargas Setter University of California, Santa Barbara
Arielle Wilson Middle Hitter Penn State University
Lexi Zimmerman Setter University of Michigan