Football finalists announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

November 11, 2014

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 11, 2014) – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 15. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Football 2014 Finalists

Name Position School
Ameer Abdullah I-back Nebraska
Sam Carter Safety TCU
Chris Conley Flanker Georgia
Cody Fajardo Quarterback Nevada
Devin Gardner Quarterback Michigan
Taylor Kelly Quarterback Arizona State
Eric Kendricks Linebacker UCLA
Tyler Lockett Wide Receiver Kansas State
Deterrian Shackelford Linebacker Ole Miss
JaCorey Shepherd Cornerback/nickelback/kick returner Kansas