Football Finalists Announced for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award

October 24, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 24, 2018) – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as finalists for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 5. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

# # # #


Football 2018 Finalists

Name Position School
Joe Dineen Jr. Linebacker University of Kansas
Will Grier Quarterback West Virginia University
Hale Hentges Tight End University of Alabama
Patrick Laird Running Back University of California, Berkeley
Drew Lock Quarterback University of Missouri
Bryce Love Running Back Stanford University
Dalton Risner Offensive Line Kansas State University
Cameron Smith Inside Linebacker University of Southern California
Christian Wilkins Defensive Lineman Clemson University
Khari Willis Safety Michigan State University