Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott selected as the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® winner for FBS football

December 29, 2015

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (December 29, 2015) – Mississippi State All-American quarterback Dak Prescott has been selected as the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® winner for the NCAA® Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. The award, chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I FBS football coaches, national football media and fans, is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, community, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

After four years under center at Mississippi State—three as a starter—Dak Prescott has earned a reputation as one of the best quarterbacks in Bulldog and SEC history. The holder of 38 school records, Prescott has not only excelled on the gridiron, but also has developed a reputation of maturity and perseverance on campus, in the community and across the country. In 2013, Prescott gained national attention as he persevered through both an injury and the loss of his mother to colon cancer in November to lead his team to a 7-6 record and a victory over Rice in the Liberty Bowl—a game in which he earned MVP honors.

“I tried—to the best of my ability—to represent our football team in a first-class manner in everything I did, and I am thankful for receiving the Senior CLASS Award because it embodies more than just on-field performance,” said Prescott, the 12th Senior CLASS Award winner from the SEC. “I have always taken pride in being active in our community my entire career. There is a special relationship with Starkville and our football team, and I feel my teammates and I have played an important role in shaping that. I accept this honor on behalf of my teammates and our coaches, especially Head Coach Dan Mullen. He gave me a chance to come to Mississippi State. That opportunity gave me a chance to earn two academic degrees, develop as a player both on and off the field, create an expectation of winning for our program and live out the greatest years of my life.”

After taking over as MSU’s starting quarterback in 2013, Prescott helped the Bulldogs to an impressive 2014, going 10-2 and achieving the first No. 1 national ranking in school history. For his efforts, he earned All-America and All-SEC honors. This season, he again turned in impressive numbers, becoming the second player in SEC history to throw for 60 touchdowns and rush for 40 in a career and, again, earned All-America and All-SEC nods.

“Class is something that has epitomized Dak Prescott’s entire career,” said Mississippi State Head Coach Dan Mullen. “He’s been a tremendous ambassador for our university and football team, and I am proud of him capturing the Senior CLASS Award. Whether it was his work in the community or his leadership on the field, Dak has raised the standard of excellence at Mississippi State.”

As impressive as Prescott was on the field, his commitment to excellence in all areas of life helped him achieve a positive reputation in the classroom and community, as well. After completing his undergraduate degree in educational psychology in 2014, he earned in master’s degree in workforce leadership this December, earning two SEC Academic Honor Roll recognitions in the process. While not on the field or in the classroom, Prescott also has invested time speaking to kids at schools and camps and visiting them in local hospitals.

“The country has watched Dak Prescott grow into a mature and positive role model on and off the field throughout his time at Mississippi State,” said Erik Miner, executive director for the Senior CLASS Award. “We are thrilled that the voters selected Dak as this year’s winner for football, and our congratulations go out to him, his family, his team and the entire university.”

Football 2015 Winner

Name Position School
Dak Prescott Quarterback Mississippi State University

First Team

Name Position School
Jeremy Cash Safety Duke University
Joshua Perry Linebacker Ohio State University
Reggie Ragland Linebacker The University of Alabama
Nate Sudfeld Quarterback Indiana University

Second Team

Name Position School
Michael Bercovici Quarterback Arizona State University
Ty Darlington Center University of Oklahoma
Brandon Doughty Quarterback WKU
Cody Kessler Quarterback University of Southern California
Tyler Matakevich Linebacker Temple