Collegiate softball finalists announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

March 29, 2016

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 29, 2016) – Ten NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier this month. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 9. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipient for softball will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City, June 2-8.

# # # #

Softball 2016 Finalists

Name Position School
Caitlin Attfield Shortstop UAB
Elena Bowman Catcher Manhattan College
Megan Cooley Outfield Boston College
Jailyn Ford Pitcher/Utility James Madison University
Haylie McCleney Outfield University of Alabama
Kasey McCravey Third Base Army West Point
Erin Miller Outfield University of Oklahoma
Kelsey Nunley Pitcher University of Kentucky
Heather Stearns Pitcher Baylor University
Kelsey Susalla Outfield University of Michigan