Volleyball Candidates Announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

October 13, 2016

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 13, 2016) – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 27 have grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher, including 14 who maintain above a 3.5. Fifteen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and nine are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates also have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #


Volleyball 2016 Candidates

Name Position School
Inky Ajanaku Middle Blocker Stanford University
Jazzmin Babers Middle Blocker Texas A&M
Abbey Bessler Outside Hitter Xavier University
Jess Bird Outside Hitter Creighton
Amy Boswell Middle blocker BYU
Katie Brand Setter Kansas State University
Hayley Farrer Setter Idaho State University
Claire Felix Middle Blocker UCLA
Tessa Fournier Libero Seton Hall University
Janey Goodman Right Side Hitter James Madison
Carly Kan Outside Hitter University of Missouri
Grace Kauth Outside Hitter Cleveland State University
Hannah Klemm Setter Hofstra University
Laini Leindecker Outside Hitter University at Albany
Valeria León Libero Ohio State University
Dani Mostrom Libero Wichita State
Demi Muses Middle Blocker University of New Hampshire
Meghan Niemann Middle Blocker Marquette University
Megan O’Sullivan Middle Blocker Fairfield University
Kayla Ostrom Setter Lipscomb University
Chloe Reinig Outside Hitter Michigan State University
Kadie Rolfzen Outside Hitter Nebraska
Keelin Severtson Setter University of New Hampshire
Lauren Smith Middle Blocker Creighton
Ashley Smith Outside Hitter TCU
Paige Tapp Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Hannah Tapp Right Side Hitter/ Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Teegan Van Gunst Outside Hitter Georgia Tech
Cassie Wait Libero University of Kansas
Taylor Whittingham Libero University of Southern California