Football Finalists Announced for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award

November 08, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 8, 2017) – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 4. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

# # # #


Football 2017 Finalists

Name Position School
J.T.  Barrett Quarterback Ohio State
Daniel Carlson Place Kicker Auburn
Shaquem Griffin Linebacker UCF
Josey Jewell Linebacker Iowa
Micah Kiser Linebacker Virginia
Billy Price Center Ohio State
Frank Ragnow Center Arkansas
JK Scott Punter Alabama
Johnny Townsend Punter Florida
Logan Woodside Quarterback Toledo