Volleyball finalists announced for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award

October 31, 2013


Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. A complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 9. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

Volleyball 2013 Finalists

Name Position School
Jennifer Cross Middle Blocker Michigan
Natalie Hagglund Libero USC
Emily Hartong Outside Hitter Hawaii
Caroline Jarmoc Middle Blocker Kansas
Chloe Mann Middle Blocker Florida
Ashley Potts Defensive Specialist/Libero Western Kentucky
Ariel Scott Right Side Penn State
Bailey Webster Outside Hitter Texas
Lauren Wicinski Outside Hitter Michigan State
Carly Wopat Middle Blocker Stanford