Men’s Lacrosse Candidates Announced for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award

March 09, 2017


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 9, 2017) – Twenty of the top NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate lacrosse.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

Lacrosse 2017 Candidates

Name Position School
Alexander Bohl Midfield Robert Morris University
Christian Burgdorf Defense University of Denver
Connor Cannizzaro Attack University of Denver
Christian Carson-Banister Goaltender Boston University
Isaiah Davis-Allen Midfield Maryland
Andy DeMichiei Midfielder Marquette University
Scott Firman Defense Syracuse
Charles Giunta Defense Saint Joseph's University
T.J. Jones Goalkeeper Saint Joseph's University
Jake Knostman Midfield Fairfield University
Michael LeClair Attack High Point University
Dylan Molloy Attackman Brown
Kyle Mummau Defense Bryant University
Sergio Perkovic Midfield Notre Dame
Austin Pifani Defenseman University of North Carolina
J.D. Recor Attack Marist College
Eric Scott Midfielder Yale University
Shane Taggert Defense Saint Joseph's University
Cody Triolo Midfielder Lehigh University
Tommy Voelkel Midfield Hofstra University