NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey candidates announced for 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

October 06, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Twenty NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012 candidate class includes three student-athletes who participated in last year’s national semifinals and championship and one first-team U. S. College Hockey Online (USCHO) and American Collegiate Hockey Association All-American. Eleven of the 20 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Eleven of the candidates play for teams ranked in the preseason top 20 poll. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2012 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®, which will be held April 5 and 7 in Tampa.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I men’s coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

Hockey 2011-12 Candidates

Name Position School
Chad Billins Defender Ferris State
Jack Connolly Center Minnesota-Duluth
Tommy Cross Defender Boston College
Mike Daly Defender Holy Cross
Matt Di Girolamo Goaltender New Hampshire
Sean Duddy Defender Ohio State
Brad Eidsness Goaltender North Dakota
Ryan Flanigan Forward Merrimack
Scott Greenham Goaltender Alaska
Chris Haltigin Defender Rochester Institute of Technology
Doug Jones Forward Dartmouth
Drew LeBlanc Forward St. Cloud State
Sean Lorenz Defender Notre Dame
Jack Maclellan Forward Brown
Taylor Matson Forward Minnesota
Will O’Neill Defender Maine
Cody Reichard Goaltender Miami (Ohio)
Keir Ross Defender Cornell
Ian Slater Forward Western Michigan
Paul Weisgarber Forward Air Force