Men’s Hockey Candidates Announced for the 2020-21 Senior CLASS Award

February 12, 2021

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 12, 2021) – Fifteen of the top NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes, who excel both on and off the ice, have been selected as candidates today for the 2020-21 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as a NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 15 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later this month. Those 10 names will then be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2021 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.

# # # #

Hockey 2020-21 Candidates

Name Position School
Pierce Crawford Forward University of Notre Dame
Kevin Fitzgerald Forward St. Cloud State University
Matt Hellickson Defense University of Notre Dame
Nick Jenny Defense Robert Morris University
Jordan Kawaguchi Forward University of North Dakota
Jack LaFontaine Goaltender University of Minnesota
Alex Limoges Forward Penn State University
Paul McAvoy Forward Colgate University
Connor McCarthy Defense Clarkson University
Brannon McManus Forward University of Minnesota
Austin Pooley Forward Ohio State University
Nick Prkusic Forward Robert Morris University
Scott Reedy Forward University of Minnesota
Zach Solow Forward Northeastern University
Odeen Tufto Forward Quinnipiac University