Men’s Lacrosse Finalists Announced for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award

April 15, 2021

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 15, 2021) – Ten NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School , the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 17. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2021 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship® in May.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #


Lacrosse 2021 Finalists

Name Position School
Alex Akins Defense University of Detroit Mercy
Charlie Bertrand Attack University of Virginia
Jake Carraway Attack Georgetown University
Chris Gray Attack University of North Carolina
Tre Leclaire Attack Ohio State University
Teddy Leggett Long Stick Midfield/Defense Lehigh University
Kieran Mullins Attack Rutgers University
Drake Porter Goalie Syracuse University
Stephen Rehfuss Attack Syracuse University
Ryan Smith Attack Robert Morris University