Men’s Lacrosse Finalists Announced for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award

April 13, 2022

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 13, 2022) – Ten NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors or graduate students and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 16. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship® in late May.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # #

Lacrosse 2022 Finalists

Name Position School
George Baughan D Princeton
Ryan Lanchbury A Richmond
Owen McElroy G Georgetown
Matt Moore A Virginia
Charlie Olmert M Harvard
Aidan Olmstead A Loyola Maryland
John Piatelli A Cornell
Roman Puglise M Maryland
Tommy Schelling A Lehigh
Gibson Smith IV D Georgetown