Softball Candidates Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

March 14, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 14, 2019) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2019 Women’s College World Series®.

# # # #


Softball 2019 Candidates

Name Position School
Taran Alvelo Pitcher University of Washington
Madison Armstrong Catcher Western Carolina University
Kelly Barnhill Pitcher University of Florida
Jackie Brewster Outfield College of the Holy Cross
Faith Canfield Second Base University of Michigan
Madysen Cossack First Base Siena College
Kyle Davidson Catcher University of Dayton
Laurie Derrico Infield Wichita State University
Tori Dubois Outfield Penn State University
Katie Duncan Pitcher Harvard University
Alex Heinen Catcher Boston University
Brittany Hitchcock Pitcher University of Hawaii
Bryce Holmgren Utility Syracuse University
Skylee James Infield University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC)
Brianna Jones Pitcher Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Shelby Kennedy Outfield Yale University
Meghan King Pitcher Florida State University
Aubrey Leach Second Base University of Tennessee
Amanda Lorenz Outfield University of Florida
Nicole Newman Pitcher Drake University
Madisyn Palmer Outfield Florida Atlantic University
Riley Randolph Pitcher Florida Gulf Coast University
Morgan Ray Pitcher The Ohio State University
Katie Reed Shortstop University of Kentucky
Sydney Romero Infield University of Oklahoma
Sierra Smith Third Base Grand Canyon University
Allison Spence Infield / First Base Illinois State University
Libby Sugg Catcher Brigham Young University
Tara Trainer Pitcher Indiana University
Morgan Turkoly Outfield Louisiana Tech University