Women’s volleyball candidates announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

August 25, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011 candidate class includes nine American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans and eight honorable mention All-Americans from last season. More than half of the 30 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Two of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2010 Academic All-Americans. Ten of the candidates play for teams ranked in the AVCA preseason top 25 poll. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2011 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship, which will be played December 15 and 17 in San Antonio.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Volleyball 2011 Candidates

Name Position School
Rachael Adams Middle Blocker Texas
Kendall Bateman Setter Southern California
Suzy Boulavsky RS/OPP Oklahoma
Michelle Burow Middle Blocker Northern Iowa
Lane Carico Outside Hitter Miami
Kellie Catanach Setter Duke
Lucy Charuk Middle Blocker Houston
Kanani Danielson Outside Hitter Hawai'i
Sophia Dunworth MB/OH Duke
Kaylie Gibson Libero North Carolina
Sarah Havel Middle Blocker College of Charleston
Kim Hill Middle Blocker/Opposite Pepperdine
Kristin Hoffman Setter Northern Illinois
Mary Elizabeth Hooper Setter Wichita State
Alex Hunt Outside Hitter Michigan
Kayla Jeter Outside Hitter Tennessee
Kelsey Jewasko Libero Texas-San Antonio
Liz McArthur Outside Hitter Utah State
Kelly Murphy S/RS Florida
Tarah Murrey Outside Hitter California
Dana Powell Outside Hitter SMU
Darlene Ramdin Outside Hitter/Middle Hitter St. John's (New York)
Jenilee Rathje OH/MB Michigan State
Stacey Schmidt RS/MB UC Santa Barbara
Tanya Schmidt Middle Blocker Santa Clara
Betsy Sedlak Middle Blocker UC Davis
Kelsea Seymour Setter Southern Mississippi
Regina Thomas Middle Blocker Mississippi
Hannah Veith Middle Blocker Robert Morris
Vineece Verdun Middle Blocker Georgia State