Football candidates announced for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award

September 10, 2015

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 10, 2015) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 14 have grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher with five of those holding above a 3.5. Three are returning All-Americans, and 18 were all-conference selections in 2014.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Football 2015 Candidates

Name Position School
Nick Beamish Offensive Line Central Michigan
Michael Bercovici Quarterback Arizona State University
Devontae Booker Running Back Utah
Jake Brendel Center UCLA
Jeremy Cash Safety Duke University
Ty Darlington Center University of Oklahoma
Matt Dobson Safety Georgia Southern
Brandon Doughty Quarterback WKU
Spencer Drango Offensive Tackle Baylor
Kyle Friend Center Temple
Blake Frohnapfel Quarterback University of Massachusetts
Johnathan Gray Running Back University of Texas
Joey Hunt Center TCU
Don Jackson Running Back Nevada
Jonathan Jones Defensive Back Auburn University
Jamie Keehn Punter LSU
Chuckie Keeton Quarterback Utah State
Nick Kelly Center Arizona State University
Cody Kessler Quarterback University of Southern California
Fredi Knighten Quarterback Arkansas State
Tyler Matakevich Linebacker Temple
Justin Northern Offensive Line Fresno State
Joshua Perry Linebacker Ohio State University
Dak Prescott Quarterback Mississippi State University
Reggie Ragland Linebacker The University of Alabama
Steven Scheu Tight End Vanderbilt University
Nate Sudfeld Quarterback Indiana University
Tyler Tate Placekicker Bowling Green
Shane Williams-Rhodes Wide Receiver Boise State
Anthony Zettel Defensive Tackle Penn State University