Football candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

September 18, 2014

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 18, 2014) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 19 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher. Two are returning All-Americans and 20 were all-conference selections in 2013.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Football 2014 Candidates

Name Position School
Ameer Abdullah I-back Nebraska
Michael Bennett Defensive Line Ohio State
Shane Carden Quarterback East Carolina
Sam Carter Safety TCU
Cameron Clemmons Offensive Line Western Kentucky
La’el Collins Offensive Tackle LSU
Chris Conley Flanker Georgia
Reese Dismukes Center Auburn
Jamil Douglas Offensive tackle Arizona State
Dominic Espinosa Center Texas
Cody Fajardo Quarterback Nevada
Trey Flowers Defensive End Arkansas
Garrett Frye Offensive Tackle Georgia Southern
Devin Gardner Quarterback Michigan
Leighton Gasque Linebacker Middle Tennessee
Charles Harris Linebacker Memphis
Taylor Kelly Quarterback Arizona State
Eric Kendricks Linebacker UCLA
Nate Leonard Center Texas-San Antonio
Tyler Lockett Wide Receiver Kansas State
Sean Mannion Quarterback Oregon State
Bradley Marquez Receiver Texas Tech
Karl Mickelsen Inside Linebacker Fresno State
Mitch Morse Offensive Lineman Missouri
Mark Murphy Safety Indiana
Andy Phillips Offensive Line Central Michigan
Terrance Plummer Middle Linebacker UCF
Jordan Richards Strong Safety Stanford
Deterrian Shackelford Linebacker Ole Miss
JaCorey Shepherd Cornerback/nickelback/kick returner Kansas