Softball Candidates Announced for the 2020 Senior CLASS Award

February 18, 2020

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 18, 2020) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2020 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2020 Women’s College World Series®.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #

Softball 2020 Candidates

Name Position School
Kelsey Aikey Pitcher WKU
Aliyah Andrews Outfielder LSU
Sis Bates Shortstop Washington
AnaMarie Bruni Outfielder South Florida
Maria Cegledy Outfielder Kent State
Cassidy Clark Infielder San José State
Montana DeCamp Shortstop North Dakota State University
Tristen Edwards Outfield University of Nebraska
Amber Fiser Pitcher University of Minnesota
Morganne Flores Catcher Washington
Celene Funke Center Fielder University of Louisville
Adriana Gambino Outfielder Manhattan College
Nikki Grupp Third Base ETSU
Karli Hamilton Center Fielder Texas Tech University
Jessie Harper Shortstop Arizona
Ava Lawson Center Fielder Northern Kentucky University
Katie Marino Infielder University of Notre Dame
Nicole Mendes Utility University of Oklahoma
Ali Milam Outfielder/First Base Marist
Hunter Mundy Infielder Radford University
Claire Oberdorf Infielder/Catcher Marist
Brittany Pickett Pitcher North Carolina
Stella Preston Pitcher Mercer
Marnie Skinner Pitcher Iona College
Mary-Hannah Smith Second Base Lehigh
Julia Smith-Harrington Pitcher/Utility Towson
Amber Swinarski Outfielder Columbia University
Alyssa Walker Outfielder Chattanooga
Kayla Wedl Shortstop UIC
Keri White Third Base Appalachian State University