Volleyball Candidates Announced for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award

October 01, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 1, 2018) – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 18 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher and 27 have received academic all-conference honors. Fifteen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and 10 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #


Volleyball 2018 Candidates

Name Position School
Kamalani Akeo Setter University of Pittsburgh
Tami Alade Middle Blocker Stanford University
Rachel Anderson Middle Hitter Western Kentucky University
Ali Bastianelli Middle Blocker University of Illinois
Lauren Bruns Outside Hitter University of Dayton
Santita Ebangwese Middle Blocker Syracuse University
Gabrielle Eyl Libero Northeastern University
Mikaela Foecke Outside Hitter University of Nebraska
Cara Guthrie Outside Hitter UNC Asheville
Erica Haslag Outside Hitter Bradley University
Taryn Kloth Outside Hitter Creighton University
Haley Libs Outside Hitter Northern Kentucky University
AJ Lux Outside Hitter East Tennessee State University
Patricia Mattingly Setter U.S. Naval Academy
Alyssa Munlyn Middle Blocker University of Missouri
Courtney Pence Libero Illinois State University
Jordyn Poulter Setter University of Illinois
Colleen Reilly Middle blocker Wofford College
Michela Rucli Middle Blocker Hofstra University
Jess Schaben Outside Hitter Iowa State University
Samantha Seliger-Swenson Setter University of Minnesota
Carly Skjodt Outside Hitter University of Michigan
Alexa Smith Outside Hitter University of Colorado
Kirstyn Sperry Setter/Opposite Bryant University
Haley Templeton Setter University of Miami
Abby Thelen Outside Hitter Setan Hall University
Jaila Tolbert Right-side hitter Virginia Tech
Erica Treiber Middle Hitter University of Tennessee
Jaali Winters Outside Hitter Creighton University
Karley York Setter University of North Texas