Men’s and women’s basketball candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

October 30, 2013


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 60 candidates, 20 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are eight CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and seven returning All-Americans. Twenty-four of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

Men’s Basketball 2013-14 Candidates

Name Position School
Travis Bader Guard Oakland
Jerrelle Benimon Forward Towson
Kyle Boswell Guard UC Santa Barbara
Allan Chaney Forward High Point
Aaron Craft Guard Ohio State
Jordan Dykstra Forward South Dakota State
Melvin Ejim Forward Iowa State
Dwayne Evans Forward Saint Louis
Chris Eversley Forward Cal Poly
C.J. Fair Forward Syracuse
Tim Frazier Guard Penn State
Jakob Gollon Forward Mercer
Joe Harris Guard Virginia
Holton Hunsaker Guard Utah Valley
Anthony Ireland Guard Loyola Marymount
Joe Jackson Guard Memphis
Walt Lemon, Jr. Guard Bradley
J.J. Mann Guard/Forward Belmont
Doug McDermott Forward Creighton
Sean McGonagill Guard Brown
Travis McKie Forward Wake Forest
Jordan McRae Guard Tennessee
Shabazz Napier Guard Connecticut
Dennis Ogbe Forward Tennessee Tech
Kendrick Perry Guard Youngstown State
Dwight Powell Forward Stanford
Augustine Rubit Forward South Alabama
Russ Smith Guard Louisville
Chris Udofia Forward Denver
Patric Young Center Florida

Women’s Basketball 2013-14 Candidates

Name Position School
Gennifer Brandon Forward California
Heather Butler Guard UT Martin
Alyssa Charlston Post Idaho
Hallie Christofferson Forward Iowa State
Jerica Coley Guard FIU
Allyson DiMagno Forward Cornell
Alexis Dobbs Guard American
Stefanie Dolson Center Connecticut
Jamierra Faulkner Point Guard Southern Mississippi
Ataira Franklin Guard Virginia
Chelsea Gray Guard Duke
Sarah Hansen Guard Florida Gulf Coast
Cassie Harberts Forward USC
Jordan Hooper Forward Nebraska
Natasha Howard Forward Florida State
Amanda Hyde Guard IPFW
Maggie Lucas Guard Penn State
Dequesha McClanahan Guard Winthrop
Sarah Nelson Forward Creighton
Eilise O’Connor Point Guard UMKC
Chiney Ogwumike Forward Stanford
Haley Peters Forward Duke
Theresa Plaisance Forward LSU
Michelle Plouffe Forward Utah
Odyssey Sims Guard Baylor
Alex Smith Guard Holy Cross
Kacie Sowell Forward Seattle
DeNesha Stallworth Forward Kentucky
Rachel Tecca Forward Akron
Alli Williams Forward Saint Francis