Football Candidates Announced for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award

September 26, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (Sept. 26, 2018) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
Of the 30 candidates, 10 are returning All-Americans, 27 were all-conference selections in 2017, and seven hold a grade-point average above 3.5. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.
To determine the final Senior CLASS Award winner, the 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. Along with the winner, the 10 finalists will be awarded Senior CLASS Award first- or second-team honors.
The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January. For more information on the candidates, visit


Football 2018 Candidates

Name Position School
Azeez Al-Shaair Lineback Florida Atlantic University
Nick Allegretti Offensive Line University of Illinois
Zach Allen Defensive End Boston College
Emmit Carpenter Kicker University of Minnesota
Bryce Crawford Kicker/Punter San José State University
Joe Dineen Jr. Linebacker University of Kansas
D’Cota Dixon Safety University of Wisconsin
Eric Dungey Quarterback Syracuse University
Alec Eberle Center Florida State University
Wesley Fields Running Back Georgia Southern University
Jerald Foster Offensive Lineman University of Nebraska
Ty Gangi Quarterback University of Nevada
Will Grier Quarterback West Virginia University
Chase Hancock Linebacker Marshall University
Hale Hentges Tight End University of Alabama
Kyle Kempt Quarterback Iowa State University
Patrick Laird Running Back University of California, Berkeley
Drew Lock Quarterback University of Missouri
Bryce Love Running Back Stanford University
Trace McSorley Quarterback Pennsylvania State University
Gavin Patterson Placekicker University of South Alabama
Malik Reed Linebacker University of Nevada
Dalton Risner Offensive Line Kansas State University
David Sills V Wide Receiver West Virginia University
Cameron Smith Inside Linebacker University of Southern California
Corliss Waitman Placekicker/Punter University of South Alabama
Christian Wilkins Defensive Lineman Clemson University
Khari Willis Safety Michigan State University
Jordan Wyatt Cornerback Southern Methodist University
Oshane Ximines Defensive End Old Dominion University