Men’s and Women’s Soccer Finalists Announced for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award

October 17, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 17, 2018) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 18, 2018. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships later this fall.

# # # #


Men’s Soccer 2018 Finalists

Name Position School
Ryder Bell Forward College of William & Mary
Alex Comsia Defense University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Brad Dunwell Midfield Wake Forest University
Mark Forrest Forward Lehigh University
DeJuan Jones Forward Michigan State University
Daniel Krutzen Defense University at Albany
Robbie Mertz Midfield University of Michigan
Callum Montgomery Defense University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Tate Schmitt Forward Louisville University
Andre Shinyashiki Forward University of Denver

Women’s Soccer 2018 Finalists

Name Position School
Julia Ashley Defense University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Alana Cook Defense Stanford University
Katie Glenn Midfield University of Texas
Jennifer Hiddink Goalkeeper U.S. Air Force Academy
CeCe Kizer Midfield/Forward University of Mississippi
Hailie Mace Forward/Defense University of California, Los Angeles
Kayla McCoy Forward Duke University
Katie Moller Forward University of North Dakota
Bianca St. Georges Defense West Virginia University
Jessica Wollmann Forward Radford University