Men’s Lacrosse Candidates Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

March 04, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 4, 2019) – Thirty of the top NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate lacrosse.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2019 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #


Lacrosse 2019 Candidates

Name Position School
Matt Borges Defense The Ohio State University
Tate Boyce Goalkeeper Providence College
Jason Brewster Defense UMBC
Ian Burgoyne Midfield United States Naval Academy
James Burr Attack Boston University
Jonathan Butler Defense Harvard University
Craig Chick Defense/Long-Stick Midfield Lehigh University
Ryan Conrad Midfield University of Virginia
Marcus Cunningham Defense Syracuse University
Max Edelmann Goalkeeper Rutgers University
Mark Ellis Short-Stick Defensive Midfielder Hofstra University
Tyson Gibson Midfield Robert Morris University
Zach Goodrich Defensive Midfield Towson University
Colton Jackson Midfield University of Denver
Nate Jones Attack United State Military Academy
Timmy Kelly Attack University of North Carolina
Logan Maccani Midfield The Ohio State University
Reed Malas Midfield Bucknell University
Jake McCulloch Midfield Cornell University
Austin Meacham Defense Dartmouth College
John O’Donnell Midfield Virginia Military Institute
Andrew Pettit Attack Lehigh University
Noah Richard Long-Stick Midfield Marquette University
Chris Sabia Defense Penn State University
Pat Spencer Attack Loyola University Maryland
Jacob Stover Goalkeeper Loyola University Maryland
Johnny Surdick Defense United States Military Academy
Jack Tigh Midfield Yale University
Matthew Vangalen Attack University of Detroit Mercy
John Wagner Attack Marquette University