Men’s Lacrosse Candidates Announced for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award

March 14, 2022

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 14, 2022) – Twenty of the top NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2022 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # #

Lacrosse 2022 Candidates

Name Position School
George Baughan D Princeton
Brendan Curry M Syracuse
Luke Gaydos D Brown
Justin Inacio M Ohio State
Brett Kennedy LSM Syracuse
Cole Kirst A Lehigh
Ryan Lanchbury A Richmond
Tommy Lingner G UMBC
Matt Manfredi M Cleveland State
Owen McElroy G Georgetown
Ryan McNulty LSM Loyola Maryland
Matt Moore A Virginia
Charlie Olmert M Harvard
Aidan Olmstead A Loyola Maryland
John Piatelli A Cornell
Roman Puglise M Maryland
Tommy Schelling A Lehigh
Koby Smith D Towson
Gibson Smith IV D Georgetown
James Spence G Lehigh