Softball Candidates Announced for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award

February 18, 2021

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 18, 2021) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes, who excel both on and off the field, were selected as candidates today for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in March, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2021 Women’s College World Series® in June.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #

Softball 2021 Candidates

Name Position School
Sis Bates SS University of Washington
AnaMarie Bruni OF University of South Florida
Danielle Castleberry IF Mercer University
Teaghan Cowles U Stanford University
Mia Davidson C/IF Mississippi State University
Amber Fiser P University of Minnesota
Sydney Fisher IF/OF Radford University
Julia Fritz 1B/P East Tennessee State University
Darian Frost C Missouri State University
Rachel Garcia P/1B University of California, Los Angeles
Kristin Hallam SS Hofstra University
Jessie Harper SS University of Arizona
Alexis Holloway P University of Notre Dame
Andrea Howard OF University of New Mexico
Kristina Inouye IF Stanford University
Karlee Johnson SS/2B Boise State University
Cayla Kessinger OF University of Missouri
Jennifer Leonhardt P University of Louisville
Kendyl Lindaman 1B University of Florida
Goose McGlaun 1B Baylor University
Maddie McMahon P Siena College
Liz Murphy P University of Detroit Mercy
Bubba Nickles U University of California, Los Angeles
Makenna Partain IF University of Minnesota
Kendall Smith C Western Kentucky University
Nicole Timmons P Drake University
Kelly Warren OF East Tennessee State University
Kayla Wedl SS University of Illinois at Chicago
Alea White P University of Central Florida
Sami Williams SS Iowa State University