NCAA® Division I baseball candidates announced for 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

February 23, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Thirty NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012 candidate class includes six CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans from last season and 10 student-athletes with cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. Three candidates were National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association first-team All-Americans in 2011, eight candidates are on teams ranked in the USA Today/ESPN preseason top 25 coaches pool, and three participated in last year’s NCAA College World Series®.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2012 NCAA College World Series, which will be held June 15-26 in Omaha.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I head coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

Baseball 2012 Candidates

Name Position School
Pablo Bermudez Outfield FIU
Robbie Buller Pitcher Houston Baptist
Pat Cantwell Catcher Stony Brook
Scott Coffman Pitcher New Mexico State
Bo Cuthbertson Shortstop Southern Utah
Taylor Dugas Center Field Alabama
Matt Hamann Pitcher Belmont
Jake Hibberd First Base Wright State
Todd Hornsby Pitcher Jacksonville State
Mike Le Bel Infield Rhode Island
David Lyon Catcher Kent State
Thomas McCarthy Third Base Kentucky
Charlie McCready Pitcher Charleston Southern
Trenton Moses Third Base Southeast Missouri State
Austin Nola Shortstop LSU
Peter O’Brien Catcher Miami (Fla.)
Nick Orvin Outfield The Citadel
Phil Pohl Catcher/First Base/Outfield Clemson
Zach Price Infield Army
James Ramsey Outfield Florida State
Brance Rivera Outfield TCU
Michael Roth Pitcher/First Base South Carolina
Cam Schiller Second Base Oral Roberts
Joe Sclafani Shortstop Dartmouth
Ronnie Shaeffer Catcher UC Irvine
Tyler Sibley Second Base Texas State
Ross Stripling Pitcher Texas A&M
Brent Suter Pitcher Harvard
Preston Tucker Infield/Outfield Florida
Troy White Third Base Northern Illinois