Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award

February 10, 2022

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 10, 2022) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors or graduate-students and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # #

Women’s Basketball 2021-22 Finalists

Name Position School
Elissa Cunane C NC State
Naz Hillmon F Michigan
Rhyne Howard G Kentucky
Lexie Hull G Stanford
Morgan Jones G Florida State
Sonya Morris G DePaul
Ali Patberg G Indiana
NaLyssa Smith F Baylor
Sam Thomas F Arizona
Macee Williams F/C IUPUI

Men’s Basketball 2021-22 Finalists

Name Position School
Evan Battey F Colorado
Brad Davison G Wisconsin
Trent Frazier G Illinois
Jacob Gilyard G Richmond
Tanner Groves F/C Oklahoma
Gavin Kensmil F Stephen F. Austin
Kameron McGusty G Miami
Alex Morales G Wagner
Sasha Stefanovic G Purdue
Lucas Williamson G Loyola Chicago