Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

January 05, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 5, 2017) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 10 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Five of this year’s candidates were 2015-16 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans®, and 20 returned to the court this season after receiving All-America honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to fields of 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

# # # #


Women’s Basketball 2016-17 Candidates

Name Position School
Evelyn Akhator Forward University of Kentucky
Lindsay Allen Guard Notre Dame
Sophie Brunner Forward Arizona State University
Nina Davis Forward Baylor University
Jessica Jackson Forward University of Arkansas
Marissa Janning Guard Creighton University
Jessica January guard DePaul
Seanna Johnson Guard Iowa State University
Brionna Jones Center Maryland
Sigi Koizar Guard Maine
Kari Korver Guard UCLA
Kelsey Lang Center University of Texas
Breanna Lewis Center Kansas State
Marina Lizarazu Guard Iona College
Erica McCall Forward Stanford
Taylor McCarley G UMBC
Lanay Montgomery Center West Virginia University
Adrienne Motley Guard University of Miami
Kendall Noble Guard Western Kentucky
Ellen Nystrom Guard Colorado State University
Kelsey Plum Guard University of Washington
Rosanna Reynolds Guard University of Detroit Mercy
Leticia Romero Point Guard Florida State University
Elle Tinkle Guard Gonzaga University
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Guard Maryland
Madison Weekly Guard University of Northern Iowa
Lizzy Wendell Forward Drake University
Kindred Wesemann Guard Kansas State
Sydney Wiese Guard Oregon State
Ronni Williams Forward University of Florida

Men’s Basketball 2016-17 Candidates

Name Position School
Brett Bisping Forward Siena College
Jaron Blossomgame Forward Clemson
Evan Bradds Forward Belmont
Troy Caupain Guard Cincinnati
T.J. Cline F/C University of Richmond
Willie Conner Guard University at Buffalo
Steven Cook Forward Princeton University
Garret Covington Guard Western Illinois University
Billy Garrett Jr. Guard DePaul
Darius Graham Guard UC Davis
Josh Hart Guard Villanova University
Josh Hawkinson Forward Washington State University
Nigel Hayes Forward Wisconsin
Malcolm Hill Guard Illinois
Amile Jefferson Forward Duke University
Peter Jok Guard Iowa
Przemek Karnowski Center Gonzaga University
Tim Kempton Center Lehigh University
Moses Kingsley Forward/Center University of Arkansas
Bronson Koenig Guard Wisconsin
Luke Kornet Center Vanderbilt
Frank Mason III Guard University of Kansas
Jason McManamen Guard Wyoming
Jalen Moore Wing Utah State
Omar Prewitt Guard/Forward College of William & Mary
Austin Price Guard Lehigh University
Davon Reed Guard University of Miami
Matt Thomas Guard Iowa State
Derrick Walton Jr. Guard University of Michigan
Maurice Watson Jr. Guard Creighton