Volleyball Candidates Announced for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award

October 07, 2021

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 7, 2021) – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all of the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #

Volleyball 2021 Candidates

Name Position School
Rachel Ahrens OH/O Pepperdine
Dana Axner L FGCU
Tina Boe MB Denver
Julia Brown MB William & Mary
Miajavon Coleman OH Coppin State
Ciara Debell OH Marshall
Dani Drews OH Utah
Kennedy Eschenberg MB BYU
Emma Granger MB Robert Morris
Thayer Hall OH Florida
Sydney Hilley S Wisconsin
Paige Jones OH Michigan
Bailey Keith OH Air Force
Nicole Lennon OH Rice
Kayla Lund OH Pittsburgh
Grace Massey DS/L Oregon State
Jonni Parker RS/S Penn State
Jamie Peterson OH Dayton
Dana Rettke MB Wisconsin
Sydney Rowan OH Charlotte
Avery Skinner OH Baylor
Samantha Slaughter OH South Dakota
Alli Stumler OH Kentucky
Lexi Sun OH Nebraska
Maya Taylor OH Saint Louis
Hannah Thompson OH Bradley
Cortney VanLiew OH FGCU
Kayla White OH UNCG
Jaela Zimmerman OH Creighton