Baseball Candidates Announced for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award

March 22, 2022

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 22, 2022) – Thirty NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches, and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four C’s of community, classroom, character, and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2022 College World Series® in June.

For more information on all of the candidates, visit

# # #

Baseball 2022 Candidates

Name Position School
Easton Bertrand OF Minnesota
Chris Cannizzaro OF Bucknell
Evan Chenier RHP VCU
Cam Chick INF/OF Nebraska
Juan Colato UTIL Grand Canyon
Hunter Cooley LHP FAU
Connor Denning OF Campbell
Joshua Figueroa C UIC
Chris Gonzalez LHP Stetson
Bryce Hellgeth RHP Dayton
Cody Jefferis INF San Diego
Dominic Keegan UTIL Vanderbilt
Ben Klutts INF Arkansas State
Jake Kuchmaner LHP East Carolina
Julio Marcano INF NJIT
Kyle Muller RHP Rutgers
Jake Noviello RHP Fairfield
Sam Novitske INF Oregon
Caden O’Brien LHP North Carolina
Nick Parker RHP Coastal Carolina
Austin Peterson RHP UConn
Christian Policelli C Navy
RJ Schreck OF Duke
Jack Smith INF Washington State
Tanner Smith OF Oregon
Kolby Somers LHP Oregon
Tyler Thomas LHP Baylor
Mitchell Verburg RHP Oregon State
Alex Williams RHP Stanford
Jake Wyandt C Auburn