Men’s and Women’s Soccer Candidates Announced for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award

September 19, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 19, 2018) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Each of the 60 candidates has displayed a strong work ethic in the classroom and on the pitch with 34 returning after earning first-team conference honors, 30 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher, nine being on the MAC Hermann Watch List for 2018 and seven returning All-Americans. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates also have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

Each of the two candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.

# # # #


Men’s Soccer 2018 Candidates

Name Position School
Ryder Bell Forward College of William & Mary
Nathan Braaten Forward Oregon State University
Gabriel Carlsson Midfield Loyola University Maryland
Ivo Cerda Midfield University of Michigan
Tommy Clark Midfield Western Michigan University
Jeremy Colvin Forward/Midfield Princeton University
Alex Comsia Defense University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Nicky Downs Midfield Yale University
Brad Dunwell Midfield Wake Forest University
Mark Forrest Forward Lehigh University
Jeremiah Gutjahr Midfield Indiana University
Grant Harrison Defense University of Detroit Mercy
Lennart Hein Defense Saint Louis University
Hendrik Hilpert Goalkeeper Syracuse University
Matthew Jegier Goalkeeper Elon University
DeJuan Jones Forward Michigan State University
Daniel Krutzen Defense University at Albany
Mitch LaGro Defense Creighton University
Eddie McCusker Defense Saint Joseph's University
Robbie Mertz Midfield University of Michigan
Colin Miller Goalkeeper Providence College
Abdi Mohamed Midfield University of Akron
Callum Montgomery Defense University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Adam Mosharrafa Defense Stanford University
Tate Schmitt Forward Louisville University
Andre Shinyashiki Forward University of Denver
Simon Spangenberg Midfield The University of New Mexico
Abel Mickey Watson Defense Loyola University Maryland
Ben Willis Goalkeeper Gonzaga University
David Zalzman Midfield University of Memphis

Women’s Soccer 2018 Candidates

Name Position School
Madeline Anderson Defense Hofstra University
Julia Ashley Defense University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Franny Cerny Forward DePaul University
McKenzie Cook Midfield Grand Canyon University
Alana Cook Defense Stanford University
Paige Culver Defense Kent State University
Katie Day Defense Providence College
Christine Etzel Goalkeeper Brown University
Holly Fritz Midfield Florida Gulf Coast University
Katie Glenn Midfield University of Texas
Jennifer Hiddink Goalkeeper U.S. Air Force Academy
Julie James Midfield Baylor University
Nomvula Kgoale Defense Louisiana Tech University
Easther Mayi Kith Defense West Virginia University
CeCe Kizer Midfield/Forward University of Mississippi
Lindsay Kutscher Defense California State University, Northridge
Hailie Mace Forward/Defense University of California, Los Angeles
Kayla McCoy Forward Duke University
Taryn Miller Defense University of Montana
Katie Moller Forward University of North Dakota
Paige Monaghan Forward Butler University
Emily Ogle Midfield Pennsylvania State University
Madison Pogarch Defense Rutgers University
Brielle Preece Goalkeeper Pepperdine University
Bianca St. Georges Defense West Virginia University
Kelli Swenson Defense University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Allie Thornton Forward Southern Methodist University
Emma Tyrnauer Midfield Loyola Marymount University
Vera Varis Goalkeeper University of Central Florida
Elizabeth Woerner Forward University of Memphis
Jessica Wollmann Forward Radford University